How do you use DAML?

Mod edit: Let Talia know what you use DAML for here.

Hello DAML friends and fans! For those who I haven’t met, my name is Talia and I am a Product Manager at Digital Asset. That means I get to spend my days thinking of all the cool things we can do with DAML. The use cases that I’m most interested in these days are around sustainable finance and looking to see how we can use DAML to make the planet safer and more hospitable for all of its inhabitants. I was particularly inspired on this topic after attending a Blockchain for Social Good conference last year.

I also have the pleasure of working on use cases in the healthcare space (with legend @corey.todaro), financial services (with awesome individuals like @yukikaze @meet @BethSendra @Debbie @Vivek_Srivastava and others), as well as supply chain and anything else that comes up (like aviation! and education!).

I’m curious to hear what use cases most excite you all and why. Looking forward to reading your posts :star_struck:

6 Likes

I like using it to track who owes me a beer (https://beer.woah.xyz) but my real usecase is showing people how DAML works with this.

2 Likes

I’m trying to sell a startup accelerator on DAML, this is work in progress.

And also trying to leverage its rapid prototyping capabilities as a Trojan horse in projects where we deal with old school people, who have a superficial understanding of “the blockchain” (so, in singular) and prefer household names like Fabric, not because they have made a comparison of several options, but because that’s what they heard of and it fits into their idea of the “chain of blocks” which is easy to understand.

And maybe I can sell the idea of using DAML on Fabric instead of plain Fabric in a project, where the blockchain part plays a very simple notarization role, without any complex transactions, which would be the real deal for DAML.

3 Likes

the startup accelerator on DAML would be really cool @gyorgybalazsi!

1 Like