I'm attempting to build a Smart Contract that enables entrepreneurs to raise finance without collateral or equity

Hi Everyone,

My name is Khuram Malik, I am a business strategist by day. I spent the last few years looking into the economic prosperity of previous nations and civilisations and discovered the concept of Qirad which was used by the Greeks (it was called something else by them but the concept was the similar), the Romans, the Arabs and eventually the Italians during the renaissance.

Smart Contracts are perfect for something like Qirad. I had originally planned to hire a developer to build the Smart Contract but was introduced to DAML and wondered if I might be able to do this myself.

I have a background in IT but I am not a coder or programmer, but given the nature of DAML Iā€™ve decided to attempt this myself anyhow.

I look forward to learning from experts and fellow smart contract builders alike here.

4 Likes

Hi @krmmalik, welcome to the forum! Youā€™re definitely in the right place to meet other Damlā€™ers. Hope you have a great time using Daml.

2 Likes

Hi @krmmalik and welcome! That sounds really interesting. Could you explain to someone ignorant about islamic finance what is the difference between Qirad and Venture Capital?

I hope you have a good experience getting started with Daml. If there are any hiccups, or difficulties, please donā€™t hesitate to ask or feed back in this forum.

4 Likes

Thanks!

1 Like

Thanks @bernhard .

So in Qirad there are no equity stakes and effort is valued over capital. The Qirad Agent i.e. the entrepreneur gets to call all the shots so has more control over his or her business. The investor provides capital but has little to no say in how business is conducted, and without any stake in the business, these stakes cannot then be sold of or traded up hurting the workforce economically in the process.