Question about Pattern match(es) are non-exhaustive error

G-d willing

Hello,
Following to my previous post, I am using the --ghc-option=-Wincomplete-uni-patterns in my build-options
This time I am getting an error on the following code:

testCheckConstraintsAgainst : Script ()
testCheckConstraintsAgainst = do
  let record1 = Record 2 True (-1)
      record2 = Record (-1) False 2
      record3 = Record 1 True 0
      Right b = typecheckAgainst @Record $ var "record.foo" `mul` 1
      Right b' = typecheckAgainst @Record $ var "record.foo" `minus` 1

The error message is:

Pattern match(es) are non-exhaustive
  In a pattern binding: Patterns not matched: (Left _)

Since I am new to Daml, I know to use Right and Left on a case switch, but I am not sure how it works when I just type it inside a let command.

I think your best option here is to do a case on the right

let b = case typecheckAgainst @Record $ var "record.foo" `mul` 1 of
          Right b -> b
          Left e -> doSomething

Thanks for the reply but this is still not good enough.
Keep in mind that I am using the Wincomplete-uni-patterns build option.
Basically after the code I attached, there is usage for b & b’. So in that case b is not defined anymore as the right value, but the Either. And if I try to fix it by using Right whenever we use it, I am getting that error message again (Pattern match(es) are non-exhaustive In a pattern binding: Patterns not matched: (Left _)
So, I am not sure how to get rid of that loop.

What do you want to happen in the Left case? Can you share the code afterwards that uses it?

Well the other 2 lines after that are:

dynamicConstraint = mkConstraintUnsafe @Record (var "record.b" `gt` 0) "b is positive" [mkBinding "b" b]
      updatedConstraint = updateConstraintBindingsUnsafe dynamicConstraint [mkBinding "b" b']

Can you share what you expect to happen if you get a Left?