Make Build

Hey DAML’ers!

I am trying to explore the daml-ui-template but am having trouble with the first step ‘make build’. I get the following error:

C:\Users\James Jaworski\OneDrive\Optimis\DABL\trial\daml-ui-template-master>make build
'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

I am new to using Makefile. From some Google searches, some people suggested navigating to the path of the executable (I assume the Makefile) but my command line doesn’t recognize that as a valid path.

I then tried to run each command for ‘Build’ individually but only was able to compile the .dar file and got this error:

C:\Users\James Jaworski\OneDrive\Optimis\DABL\trial\daml-ui-template-master>daml codegen js -o daml.js .daml/dist/*.dar
SDK 1.7.0 has been released!
See https://github.com/digital-asset/daml/releases/tag/v1.7.0 for details.

> daml2js: .daml/dist/*.dar: openBinaryFile: invalid argument (Invalid argument)
    > daml-helper: Received ExitFailure 1 when running
    > Raw command: "C:\\Users\\James Jaworski\\AppData\\Roaming\\daml\\sdk\\1.5.0\\daml2js\\daml2js" -o daml.js .daml/dist/*.dar

Does anyone have any suggestions about how to get make build to work? I am working on Windows and Yarn 1.19.1.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @jamesljaworski85,

I’m not the best reference for Windows as I don’t use it to build any software. I think your best bet here is to run the commands manually, as you seemed to intuit.

If you do want to get make, you have many options:

You could also opt for using a virtual machine running linux (e.g. through VirtualBox), which can make it a bit easier to keep your host machine “clean” (all of the options above come with dependencies), but also has its own learning curve.