First Attempt in DAML: Understand Template, Contract, and Transaction

If you are like me, beginning the blockchain journey with platforms like Hyperledger Fabric and Ethereum, you may get confused by some overlapping terms and preexisted concepts when you first read DAML. In order to get a better picture, I begin my learning with hands-on on DAML. There are good tutorials in DAML, and more importantly, DAML comes with a convenient environment for new learners like me.

Read KC’s full article here and check out the rest of his research here.

5 Likes

Great article @kctam!

I really enjoyed the part where you explained the Template, Contract and Transaction in DAML with the examples :clap:

3 Likes

Thanks @andreolf. I’m still learning this interesting language and will share more when I practice more.

3 Likes

I really enjoyed your article KC Tam. Thanks for the straightforward and easy to follow breakdowns of the technology and terms!

2 Likes

What are your next DAML topics that you are working on?

1 Like

Great intro article @kctam :slight_smile: Easy to follow with concrete examples, enjoyed reading it :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yes, good article , not quite finished and I bumped into something that perhaps somebody can clear up for me. The article states that:

This active contract instance will remain active until it is archived. An archived contract instance is no longer accessible and usable in the ledger. A contract instance can be made archived explicitly by the signatories, or implicitly when during a data update is made. In such a case, a new and active contract instance is created, while the current one is made archived.

So it seems that state changes up to the current state of the contract are NOT on the ledger. If so how does one go about retrieving the "audit trail " i.e. the set of transactions and corresponding state changes leading up to the current contract state ?

thanks

-Charles

1 Like