What is the viewtype for interfaces mean?

Hello, I am new to Daml and learning it slowly but surely. I got to interfaces and am not sure about its goal. I have lots of experience with OOP and know what interfaces mean in OOP. I read the docs about the interfaces several times but I still don’t get it.
Can someone please write a simple application using interfaces, so I will understand its purpose and what each part of the interface does, for example, while in the docs it mentions the viewtype, it does not say why we need it for. and etc…

Hi @doron_levi,

I drafted as tiny example of why interfaces are useful in a previous forum post.

Please, have a look and let me know if that provides you with some clarity. Further above in the same post, I explain why interfaces have a view.

Matteo

1 Like

Hi @Matteo_Limberto I appreciate your answer, but still I don’t understand the use of viewtype. If interfaces in Daml are like interfaces in OOP, why does interface has to keep a serialize data? Isn’t suppose to be part of the template instead?

While the concept is generally similar to OO interfaces, it’s still a concept that has to live in the broader Daml context.

Specifically, you have to keep in mind that a Daml program is distributed between a ledger and a number of clients. If you want to be able to write client code that deals with interfaces, that client code has to be able to receive an object of type Interface I rather than Template T. Therefore, the interface types, just like templates, have to be serializable.

1 Like

This is basically my entire question… why do I need a serializable part in interfaces? What was missing, so it was needed to be a part of the interface?

If your client code deals with interfaces, you will reach a point where it wants to get the data for a ContractId for which it does not know the Template type, but does know the (an) Interface type.