I've just discovered what the `@<template_name>` notation in functions like `fetchByKey` et al means

So far I thought it was part of the key parameter, so that we know what template the key is part of (I’m not a Haskell pro - yet…).

It turns out that the @<template_name> notation belongs to the function, and it’s called visible type application in Haskell.

Here is a description: Visible Type Application in GHC 8 (Kwang’s Haskell Blog).

Kwang illustrates its use by the following example, compare:

λ> id "a"
"a"
λ> id (3 :: Int)

With using visible type annotation it becomes simpler:

λ> :set -XTypeApplications
λ> id @String "a"
"a"
λ> id @Int 3

For fetchByKey, thinking that the @<template_name> part belongs to the key argument, doesn’t cause a syntax error, because we don’t have parameters other than the key.

But for queryContractKey, which also has a party parameter, we have to keep in mind that the @<template_name> part must be written right after the function name, and this is the right syntax:

maybeDealer <- queryContractKey @Username [originator,operator] (operator, "DealerUser")
6 Likes

Another subtle thing which took me a while to understand is that the type applications need to appear in the order corresponding to the type parameters in the function. And this is tied in with the forall statement you may have sometimes seen.

For example, a full function signature is written like:

fmap : forall f a b . (a -> b) -> f a  -> f b

writing fmap @Set would mean that f = Set, because it appears first in the forall statement. However, often you’ll see signatures with the forall omitted, e.g.:

fmap : (a -> b) -> f a -> f b

in which case the compiler will infer the order of variables from the signature. In this case, I think it would mean that writing fmap @Set would fail (someone correct me), because it would try to match Set : * -> * with a : *, the first type parameter, rather than f : * -> *, which appears third in that signature.