GRPC exceeds max size error and how to recover

I have a application that subscribes to the event stream of a ledger on DAML hub and does different types of processing depending on the event. My code to subscribe to the stream is -

Flowable<com.daml.ledger.javaapi.data.TransactionTree> transactionTree = damlLedgerClient.getTransactionsClient().getTransactionsTrees(
            ledgerOffset,  
            new FiltersByParty(Collections.singletonMap(platformAdminParty.getIdentifier(), NoFilter.instance)), true);

transactionTree.blockingSubscribe(this::processTransactionTree, this::streamErrorHandler);

Currently our error Handler just initiates a reconnect as 99% of the time the error is the hub ledger went down.

With some new changes made by the DAML devs we are now running into the error “RESOURCE_EXHAUSTED: gRPC message exceeds maximum size”. I have talked to our DA resources and know this value won’t be increased for hub and our DAML devs are looking into making smaller payloads. While they are doing that though I would like to come up with a solution to handle this error and continue processing the stream. So all this to ask 2 questions -

1. I believe the issue is that there are alot of events in this one transaction tree that is making it so large. Is there a way to limit the events in the tree? I’m assuming no and that is how DAML links them so it is what it is.
  2. How can I go about skipping the offset with the error and going to the next offset to continue processing? I write to a database every successful processed offset so that I can recover from restarts so I know what he last one is but I can’t figure out how I can skip ahead a offset to skip the one throwing the error. Is it possible to know what the next offset would be? Then I could log the error, update my database with that offset, and when it reconnects it will start at the one after the one causing the error.