DAML syntax - composition & key maintainer

Hi DAML’ers,

My name is Nitia. I am still learning about DAML. I started with DAML in Doodle as an example (daml-examples/Doodle.daml at bff79195d6f685d2bc0299917db6eb294cf58c63 · entzik/daml-examples · GitHub).
There are 2 templates:

template Doodle
  with
    name: Text
    organizer: Party
    voters: [Party]
    options: [Text]
    votes: TextMap VotingSlot
    open: Bool
  where
    signatory organizer
    observer voters
    ensure (unique voters) && (unique options)
    key (organizer, name): (Party, Text)
    maintainer (fst key)

template DoodleInvite
  with
    doodleName: Text
    organizer: Party
    voter: Party
  where
    signatory organizer
    observer voter
    key (organizer, voter, doodleName) : (Party, Party, Text)
    maintainer key._1

My questions are What’s the meaning of these:

1. " maintainer key._1" ? ._1 means what?

2. “create this with voters = voter::voters” ? what’s the meaning of this “::” notation?

3. “DA.Traversable.mapA (\voter → create DoodleInvite with doodleName = this.name, organizer = this.organizer, voter = voter) voters”

4. As we know in UML class diagram concept that composition is when the class really depends on other class. It means that strong ownership. How to represent a strong ownership between template in DAML code?

Sorry for the basic questions. But I really want to learn about this.
Your answer would be very useful for me.

Thank you.

Best,
Nitia

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @nr185!

Let me go through your questions in order:

1. key._1 selects the first element of the tuple key. In your case, the key is a tuple of (organizer, voter, doodleName) so it will select the organizer. The reason for the slightly weird syntax as opposed to just writing organizer is that the maintainers need to be inferrable from just the key without the template argument.