Custom function on Trigger

Hi,
I am still learning DAML. I have this trigger and I want to implement a custom function which I will call inside the rule of the Trigger I defined.

But I get this error

Here is my code :

processTrade : (ContractId OB.OrderBook,OB.OrderBook) -> (ContractId OB.OrderBook,OB.OrderBook) -> Decimal -> Decimal -> ()
processTrade (sellCid,currentSell) (bCid,currentBuy) bidPrice askPrice = do 
   let   buyTotalAmount = (askPrice * intToDecimal(currentBuy.qty)) * (1.01)
         buyTransactionFee = (askPrice * intToDecimal(currentBuy.qty)) * (0.01)
         sellTotalAmount = (bidPrice * intToDecimal(currentSell.qty)) * (1.01)
         sellTransactionFee = (bidPrice * intToDecimal(currentSell.qty)) * (0.01)

debugRaw $ "MATCHING : " <>  show (currentSell.qty) <> "=" <> show (currentBuy.qty)
   when(currentSell.qty <= currentBuy.qty) $ do 
      T.dedupExercise bCid OB.ProcessTrade with ..

I get error on return type, Im still struggling to undertand some return type mismatch.
Thanks for the help, let me know whats the best way to implement this.

Best,

Hi @ariscatan,

In Daml, a do block returns the value of its last expression. The signature of your function says it returns (), but the code of the function has

when(currentSell.qty <= currentBuy.qty) $ do 
      T.dedupExercise bCid OB.ProcessTrade with ..

as its last expression, so the return type will be that of when. Looking at its documentation, you can see that it’s returning f (), which isn’t all that helpful if we don’t know what f is. But the signature tells us it has to be the same f as the second argument, namely

do T.dedupExercise bCid OB.ProcessTrade with ..

If you look at the documentation for dedupExercise, you’ll see that its return type is TriggerA s (), meaning that in this case f is TriggerA s. In this type signature, s is not bound to anything, so you can leave it unbound too; this means that the return value of when in this particular case is

TriggerA s ()